Skip to content

Bank Holiday fun

May 9, 2011

The May Bank Holiday marked the Royal Wedding and my final days of leisure before starting my new job.

On Friday, after watching the Royal Wedding and admiring the dress (although I was wholly more taken with the page boy costumes if I’m totally honest – I loved the Disney-esq grandeur,) my friends and I dressed hot to trot in 1940s gear and attended the Northern Quarter Street Party in Manchester. I even wore my fringe in a victory curl on my forehead (although you can’t really see it here.)

The whole event was themed to reflect the decade, and there were heaps of people who turned out in fancy dress. There was even a 1940s military jeep and a British bulldog with a Union Jack flag tied around his neck.
Northern Quarter Street Party - 27 April 2011
We danced, drank Pimms and had our photographs taken in front of an antique ice cream van for the Independent on Sunday (I’ll scan the page if it makes the feature.)
The Mayor of Manchester even complimented my friend on her hat!
Northern Quarter Street Party 27 April 2011
Northern Quarter Street Party 2011, Manchester
Northern Quarter Street Party, Manchester 27 April 2011

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2011 7:00 am

    It must have been a hoot to be in England during the festivities! And street parties? Awesome! I wish we had some type of neighborhood block party thing going on over here. :)
    Lydia

    http://www.styleindependent.com
    @LydiaHibbing

    • May 15, 2011 2:34 pm

      It was pretty ace, everyone got really into the spirit of things and it was such a success that they’re talking about having a street party in the Northern Quarter again next year – fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

