Skip to content

Label Spy – Swedish Style Part I

December 19, 2010

Follow my blog with bloglovin
I recently went to visit a friend from university who is working over in Gothenburg, Sweden, for a week.

Sweden, a country renowned for spawning a national army of serenely blonde, blue eyed residents, has nothing of the awkward, pre-2000 Eurotrash style that is so popular in a lot of other European nations.

In actual fact, the style I discovered throughout my five day residency in Gothenburg put the rest of Europe to shame.

Naturally, you’d expect nothing less from a city nicknamed ‘Little London,’ or indeed from the country from which H&M emerged.

Over the next few posts I’ll be highlighting the stores and labels that caught my eye the most during my visit.

MONKI
Located on Södra Larmgatan 11, Monki, boasts the kind of reasonably-priced, well-cut everyday fashions that made H&M great.

Between jodpurs patched with faux suede, chunky boyfriend cardigans and wholesome helpings of camel, Monki is bang on trend, and had me reserving a portion of my holiday spending money just hours after I touched down in Gothenburg’s Landvetter airport.

Skimming through the rails of well cut, sumptiously stylish garments, I was surprised to discover that the prices surprisingly gentle on the purse strings, and picking up several items was easily manageable even on a British tourist’s budget.

Here is a snapshot of some of the items I’ll be sending off to Sweden for:

Jeanelle cardigan by Monki

Jeanelle cardigan, 400SEK (£37)

Monki Catherina skirt in camel

'Catherina' skirt, 150SEK (£14)


Nomi minidress by Monki

Nomi minidress, 250SEK (£23)


Madge minidress by Monki

Madge minidress, 300SEK (£33)


Monki has stores in Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Holland and Finland, and can be found online, however, unfortunately for us Brits, there is no online shop as yet.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 3:43 am

    These are all such cute pieces, especially the cardi.

Leave a Reply

