Skip to content

Defying Mr Lagerfeld

January 31, 2011

Chanel haute couture collection Paris 2011
Last week, following the Chanel haute couture show which saw the entire model cast dressed in – admittedly to die for – ballet pumps, Karl Lagerfeld declared himself “sick” of high heels.

It’s still technically January, national insurance is on the increase, and now this?

Don’t get me wrong – the man could make a bin bag chic, and beautiful, good quality brogues and ballet pumps never fail to get the better of my bank balance, but I definitely don’t intend to spend summer shuffling around in flats.

For me, there’s something carefree about trotting around in a nice pair of wedge sandals, shorts and sunnies during the warmer months and, let’s face it, I’m 5ft – I’ve got to take all the height I can get.

Two pairs of heeled wedges from the high street lookbooks have caught my eye this season, both of which have managed to keep my January blues at bay by inducing daydreams about swanning around in them in dazzling sunlight, and will most definitely ensure I shun Mr Lagerfeld’s example this summer.

Primark Spring/Summer 2011 fashion lookbook
Primark Spring/Summer 2011

These wedges make me heart ache a little.

I love the tall, thin heel and the monstrous gap separating it from the platform that could make Jade Jagger jealous.

I love the idea of breezing around in them with white ankle socks and bare legs.

And I thoroughly intend on stalking the headache-inducing, badly lit Primark in Manchester Piccadilly after work until they become available.

Long live the heel.

Swedish Hasbeens H&M shoe collection
Swedish Hasbeens for H&M

Generally, Swedish Hasbeens are a little to clunky and utilitarian for my liking – I generally like my shoes either traditional and androdgynous (brogues, winklepickers) or chic and dainty (wedges, strappy heels).

These beauties, however, are a gorgeous combination of clog, wedge and dressed-down brogue, which somehow surfaces as appealing.

They also boast the Scandinavian styling that was popular in ’70s, which makes them bang on trend.

The Swedish Hasbeens H&M collection is launched in stores on 20 April – who’s getting in line with me?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

