Skip to content

A palette for Spring/Summer 2011

April 28, 2011

When Topshop first launched their make-up range, I was a little sceptical.

Despite their monstrously successful clothing line, I was doubtful as to whether what at first seemed like a ‘me too!’ make-up range would have much to impress me with, particularly at the prices they were offering (call me tight, but, for some reason, £5 is about 50p out of what I’d pay for a nail varnish by a brand I’m feeling doubtful about.)

Several bottles and a few months in, I’m convinced.

The palette of colours they have produced so far is enviable. Unlike many leading beauty brands, Topshop appear to be devoting more of their line to risqué, on trend shades than the old fail safes that dominate so many collections (the only truly classic colours they currently have on the shelves are black and a clear base coat.)

The polishes glide on with little mess, dry reasonably quickly for a brand that doesn’t boast ‘fast drying’ on the bottle and are fairly chip resistant for the price.

In addition to Spring/Summer 2011’s obligatory shade of startling yellow (‘Summit’), the current line boasts an eye-catching neon pink (‘Remember My Name’), a near-nude peach (‘Play For Keeps’) and a delectable, near silver shade of violet (‘Parma Violet.’)

Topshop Nail Varnish in 'Summit'Topshop Nail Varnish in 'Remember My Name'Topshop Nail Varnish in 'Parma Violet'Topshop Nail Varnish in 'Play For Keeps'

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

